Counseling Requirements for Florida

Florida Licensed Mental Health Counseling Requirements

See Laws and Regulations for Licensed Mental Health Counseling.

  1. Completed 60 hours of counseling course work and holds a master’s or doctoral degree
    • Must include course on human sexuality and substance abuse
    • Practicum hours: 1000
  2. Completed minimum of two-years post-master’s supervised experiences under the supervision of a licensed mental health counselor or the equivalent who is qualified as determined by the Board
  3. Pay your application fee as set by the board at the time you apply
  4. Complete application to be a Registered Intern.
  5. Pass the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE) developed by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC).
  6. Complete an eight-hour laws and rules course from an approved provider.
  7. Complete a two-hour prevention of medical errors course from an approved provider.
  8. Complete a three-hour course on human immunodeficiency virus and acquired immune deficiency syndrome within 6 months of licensure.
  9. Complete a two hour domestic violence course within 6 months of licensure.

Florida Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Requirements

See Laws and Regulations for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists.

  1. Complete master’s degree in marriage and family counseling with minimum of 36 semester hours in marriage and family therapy as stipulated by the FL board.
    • Practicum includes minimum of 180 hours of direct client contact in marriage and family services
  2. Pay your application fee as set by the board at the time you apply.
  3. Complete application to be a Registered Intern.
  4. Complete two-years of post-master’s supervised experience under the supervision of a LMFT with 5-years of experience or the equivalent who is qualified as determined by the Board.
  5. Pass the National Examination developed by the Examination Advisory Committee of the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards and Professional Examination Services.
  6. Complete an eight-hour laws and rules course.
  7. Complete a two-hour prevention of medical errors course.
  8. Complete a three-hour course on human immunodeficiency virus and acquired immune deficiency syndrome within 6 months of licensure.
  9. Complete a two hour domestic violence course within 6 months of licensure.

For both licenses, graduates must complete the form to become a registered intern. This requires you to complete the Florida application and a letter from the Counseling and Pastoral Care Department.

http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/491/ap_intern-regis.pdf